.

Were Saturday's Fireworks Too Loud?

During Saturday's Green Music Center's fireworks show, local police received over 150 calls of gunfire. Some say the fireworks were too loud.

It was supposed to be a night of celebration during the gala debut of the $145 million Green Music Center at Sonoma State Univerisity. But what was supposed to be a night punctuated by a fireworks show, for many in Rohnert Park, became a night of confusion.

According to this story in the Press Democrat, over 150 people called police to report gunfire. Many in the community were unaware that the fireworks show was taking place and for a period of 20 minutes, they flooded the Rohnert Park Department of Public Safety with concerned calls. 

Rohnert Park-Cotati Patch reported about the opening of the Donald and Maureen Green Music Center Saturday.

The debut took place within the Joan and Sanford I. Weill Hall inside the Green Center. The hall boasts 1,400 concert seats and is designed to showcare music and singing as well as other performance arts.

Now we put the question up to the readers of Rohnert Park-Cotati Patch. Did you hear or see the fireworks? In your opinion, were they too loud?

If you were at the gala, what was your impression of the evening?

Follow us on Twitter | Like us on Facebook | Blog for the Patch

J Stevens October 01, 2012 at 02:59 PM
The fireworks display was incredible. The Green Music Center is an amazing, world class venue that our community should be proud to be home to. Its grand opening was a long-awaited event and many people worked tirelessly for years to make it happen. I feel that it was an occasion worthy of a spectacular celebration. I'm sorry some people were bothered by the show, but keep in mind that grand opening events typically happen only once. Maybe we can find it in our hearts to overlook a little revelry just this once.
Guy Miller October 01, 2012 at 04:47 PM
Interesting that there were fireworks at RCHS two weeks earlier in honor of RP's 50th Anniversary Celebration. They were much closer to residences than were SSU's. I didn't hear about any complaiants about that. Maybe there were, but it didn't make the news? Anyway, the opening of trhe Green Music Center and RP's 50th Anniversary were very special events of which we can be proud. I don't see anymore fireworks in our immediate future unless someone wants to sponsor a 4th of July event in 2013.
Victoria Broderick October 01, 2012 at 04:56 PM
I was not aware of any notices sent out to the community or the M-Section neighborhood. It was very late for the firework show, as I was awakened by them. But, it's also nice to see fireworks in Rohnert Park again.
Doug Strickland Is An Asshat October 01, 2012 at 04:58 PM
Extremely loud (we're in M section). They need to alert people when there is going to be a fireworks show, to avoid needless calls to the police. We almost called the police, or thought there was an explosion of some sort, and then we stepped onto our back deck and saw the fireworks.
Doug Strickland Is An Asshat October 01, 2012 at 05:00 PM
These were louder than the 50th Anniversary fireworks (which we also didn't know about until they were happening). Fireworks are nice, but the surrounding areas really should be alerted in advance.
Janice Raridon October 01, 2012 at 06:12 PM
These fireworks were exceptionally loud, much louder than the RP anniversary fireworks and later. The Green Center opening is a wonderful thing and we were not annoyed by the fireworks once we figured put what was going on but the were still extremely loud. Fireworks are very hard on animals so better notice to the entire city would have been nice so that pet owners were not taken by surprise.
Ron H October 01, 2012 at 06:27 PM
We are officially out of problems in this town. Where are we, Oakmont? A one time fireworks display for a big event on a Saturday night and we get this many complaints? Do we like things so boring that anything out of the ordinary ruffles our feathers? Here's what happened to me. I heard the fireworks, looked out the window and thought, "Oh, cool, fireworks." I watched for 5 minutes and then went on with my life. How should they have alerted the local community? They could have taken out billboards and radio spots and still most people would have no idea it's coming. Short of going door to door or calling you on your personal cell, I don't see how this could have been reasonably done. I just don't believe that anyone's life was that greatly inconvenienced by this fireworks display. On the other hand, I'm very happy that Rohnert Park is slowly becoming a hub for entertainment in the North Bay and if we as a community embrace this, it will be a better more vibrant place to live for all of us.
June Alexander October 01, 2012 at 07:37 PM
At least July 4th I KNOW there will be fireworks and can prepare my pets for the noise...these fireworks were exceedingly loud and the first few sounded just like gunfire. My worry about fireworks is that it frightens animals...it disorients them and many end up lost or worse...that often happens on July 4th. But, I was totally unaware that fireworks were to be a part of the Green Music Center's celebration on Saturday...would have been more appropriate if the City and Public Safety and The Green Music Center had made it better known that this was to take place. But, I do welcome this beautiful building!
don October 01, 2012 at 07:52 PM
Ron; I do agree with much that you state. however, The fireworks show should have been started at 9:00pm. Because of the surrounding area The concussions from the display sounded louder then normal. Our neighbor hood windows were rattled pretty good. Having been in naval gunnery combat, these concussions were mild but I can see where some of the children and our seniors might have been frightened. Also there are ways that venues can let the public know about events that will occur. I had no idea this was happening or I would have been there!
carrat October 01, 2012 at 10:08 PM
My daughter called me from College and told me how wonderful they were. She thought it was GREAT
Lorraine Wagner October 01, 2012 at 11:45 PM
I do have to say the fireworks were a little late in the evening on that Saturday night. And YES... they were a bit loud, but yet they were very enjoyable... I love fireworks. City of RP, should have been notified about the event so we the neighbors would have had enough warning and prepared for the situation. Next time make the fireworks a little earlier like they did for the 50th Anniversary of Rohnert Park... also this fireworks display was the best I have ever saw, so if RP can get enough sponsors, maybe City of RP, can hire this company who put on this fireworks event, and we can have fireworks for the 4th of July 2013, or even for the New Year 2013.... Thank you,
Reginald "Rex" Henderson October 02, 2012 at 01:19 AM
Couldnt see or hear any of it from over at Hooters.
rosemary mojica October 02, 2012 at 01:27 AM
Fireworks were wonderful. It was mentioned in the Press democrat and the Community Voice that Fireworks were going to happen at the opening Gala. People please stay informed.
Mary of rp October 02, 2012 at 02:19 AM
I found no notice in press democrat or community voice paper to warn residents. Is there a noise ordinance at 10pm the fireworks were going on after 10pm. they fireworks were beautiful, but I am more concerned for alot of elderly that live in area.
Suzie October 02, 2012 at 03:51 AM
I read about it on the PD website Saturday Morning.. Forgot about it until I heard them going off. bummed I forgot. The sound was obviously fireworks, especially when there are no sounds of sirens after 10 minutes of it, come on people.
Patricia October 02, 2012 at 05:20 AM
Have to agree with Ron H. It was an incrediable display, and should be appreciated. People find something meaningful to complain about.....
The County October 02, 2012 at 05:33 AM
Awesome fireworks. Congratulations on the grand opening of the new music venue. As far as the noise?...it was Saturday night and while it was later than normal, it was fine with me. My dog got a little jittery over it but I just put him inside...all is well and the earth is still spinning in spite of the surprise fireworks!
Msection October 02, 2012 at 07:04 AM
This doesn't seem like the friendly city. It's more like complaint city.it doesn't have to be 10 for noise ordinance. Neighbors allways calling police becouse youre dog barks,youre kids are to laud playing in youre own backyard or youre lights are to bright. Common get a life and enjoy theese one in a lifetime moments.
Diane Young Leslie October 02, 2012 at 07:15 AM
Hate to be a spoil sport, but it was WAY to loud. Laying in bed falling alseep and it sounded like someone hitting outside wall of the house. I was very scared until I saw what it was. They had them only last month at Rohnert Park anniversary. These were EXTREMELY loud and made the house shake. I am a good several miles away from ground zero, and it was still too much. And so late at night. 4th of July is quite enough. The animals went crazy. Very inconvenient and disturbing. Diane....Cotati
Reginald "Rex" Henderson October 02, 2012 at 11:48 AM
You sound like a typical M Section rule violator.
Sheena October 02, 2012 at 01:21 PM
Wow is all I have to say....I to was woke up at 10 (in Cotati) but the booms and looked outside wondering what it was and got a lil freaked out but Saturday I heard it was fireworks and I wasnt upset about how loud they were but I couldn't see them. I attended the firework show at the highschool with my son at 9pm (was past his bedtime) but it was well worth it. I don't understand why people complain about something exciting happening when all I ever hear is how boring RP is and theres never anything to do. I have lived here for 34years and its great to see some fun going on. Try to enjoy life instead of whinning about 20 minutes of it :)
Kimberley Peterson Roberts October 02, 2012 at 02:32 PM
Well We got notices over here in J section. We got a letter in the mail. Either way it was great. It only happens once in a while.
Becky Jackson October 02, 2012 at 05:02 PM
I usually LOVE fireworks, but not this time. The church I work at on Snyder Lane got a notice in the mail, but none at my house which was much closer to the display than the church was. Also, the notice came Friday afternoon giving no time to go to the vet to get tranquilizers for my poor dog. The notice said the fireworks started at 9:00 pm, and when that didn't happen, we hoped the plan was scrapped. But the onslaught started as we went to bed, then we spent the next half hour cradling Rusty and trying to keep him from hurting himself; he was terrified. I also have parrots who had been put to bed, and were terrified of the concussions hitting the house. I was pretty upset that the show happened so late, and not on schedule. AND that it lasted so long. 10-15 minutes would have been plenty. As it was, I missed the 'show' since I was caring for terrified animals.
Wayne October 02, 2012 at 05:43 PM
does everyone in RP go to bed when the sun goes down? i guess it could be worse...we could be complaining about way worse than a few fireworks to spark up a little excitement
Ron H October 02, 2012 at 06:03 PM
My point exactly. Short of talking to everyone in town individually, I don't think there is any reasonable additional measures they could have taken.
CG October 02, 2012 at 07:06 PM
It was a fantastic show! Saw it clear as a bell from our house in S section. I should not be surprised about all of the bah humbug complaints. I have lived here over 20 years and people are getting way to grumpy. Life is too sort to worry about a half hour show of great fireworks. Things could be alot worse.
Sarah October 03, 2012 at 04:33 AM
Well let me just say it would be fine for someone who doesn't work sundays and at 5 a.m. it was a terrible disturbance since I live close to sonoma state 10 pm is too late.
Contessaria October 05, 2012 at 04:09 PM
I LOVE fireworks and welcome them always but I just wish we knew about them :-) Everyone thought it was gunfire in my entire complex and not one person knew there was going to be a fireworks display. It would have been nice to go watch them so maybe next time the "Patch" could give us a heads up :-) I knew they were fireworks because if that had been gunfire we would have heard not only sirens but the US Army dropping in ha ha!!!
Frances Cheda October 05, 2012 at 06:23 PM
I know 3 people who's dogs jumped their leashed and/or jumped the fence. 2 got hit by a car and 1 is still not found!! It was OUT of control. Waste of money if you ask me.
Graham Lower October 07, 2012 at 05:56 AM
Neither my wife nor I were aware of the pending display, so the initial exposure was a bit disconcerting (especially since we were watching a "scary" movie). Once we figured out what it was and that it wasn't going to wake our younger daughter, we didn't have an particular problem. Of course, had it woken her, I would have been livid.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »